And it seems george bush is no exception, as for the first time he’s exhibited better judgement than cheney in choosing to remain silent on Obama’s performance so far.

“I’m not going to spend my time criticizing him. There are plenty of critics in the arena,” Bush said. “He deserves my silence.”

 

Bush said he wants Obama to succeed and said it’s important that he has that support. Talk-show host Rush Limbaugh has said he hoped Obama would fail.

 

“I love my country a lot more than I love politics,” Bush said. “I think it is essential that he be helped in office.”

This is one of those moments that reminds that, though he might have been less than competent, and though he might have surrounded himself with a veritable galaxy of assholes, bush is fundamentally a good guy. The sad thing is that if the road to hell is paved with good intentions he laid down an 8-lane highway. Thankfully, unlike certain other former administration members, he at least knows when to keep his mouth shut.

