Ah, it’s good to be back in the saddle after about a week of grad school preparation/application madness. All I’ve left to do is finish up the “why I want to get in and why you should let me” essay (which I’ll post here for your benefit) and then my fate is in the hands of GMU’s admissions department.

In the meantime, back to current events: it would seem Michael Steele has entirely forgotten which party he leads. Since long interview is long, I’ll pick out the choicer quotations, but suffice to say that the man seems to have a short-term memory measured in seconds:

Do you think homosexuality is a choice?
Oh, no. I don’t think I’ve ever really subscribed to that view, that you can turn it on and off like a water tap. Um, you know, I think that there’s a whole lot that goes into the makeup of an individual that, uh, you just can’t simply say, oh, like, “Tomorrow morning I’m gonna stop being gay.” It’s like saying, “Tomorrow morning I’m gonna stop being black.”

 He also does something of an about-face on abortion:

We are a party; we are the conservative party of this country. We are a party that values life, born and unborn

About 3/4 of the way through the same interview:

Are you saying you think women have the right to choose abortion?
Yeah. I mean, again, I think that’s an individual choice.

Now, these are very reasonable stances for almost anyone to have; I myself share them. But then I’m a fairly liberal democrat. Michael Steele is the leader of the RNC, a party whose most powerful factions are deeply pro-life and insist that homosexuality is a choice. Since the republicans still need these people in order to function, now more than ever before in fact, this could be the true beginning of Steele’s ouster if the cultural conservatives are sufficiently enraged.

Regardless of the political implications, I exhort you all to read the whole interview, as it offers a very good perspective on the man, and helps remind us that he is not in fact the “hip-hop, what what” caricature the MSM have been treating us to these past few weeks.

 

UPDATE: Ben Smith from Politico is reporting that Steele is attempting to about-face his about-face.

