E-Day Minus Six

Well I couldn’t very well call myself a blogger if I ignored the single largest ad-buy in American political history, so despite a ten hour work day I bring myself before you to summarize the Obama superad.

The thing basically took the form of a string of Obama’s usual two-minute ads in which he goes into specifics on what he wants and how he’ll get/pay for it, peppered with scenes of him giving speeches/talking to avg ppl/tales of struggles of aforementioned everymen/obligatory chorus of praise from notable democrats, mostly governors. I counted Sebelius, Patrick, and Kaine (yay!), as well as Senator McCaskill. Also included were segments about him speaking on his past and present family life, all very uplifting if you’re into that sort of thing. Notable is that one of the “Tales of Everyman” centered on a teacher who is also the mother of a special-needs child, in what is a clear counter-shot to one of Sarah Palin’s big substantive policy pushes. The whole thing was capped off with a 5 minute speech broadcast live from Florida which essentially asked ppl to get out the vote.

As for policy specs, it was pretty much things those who have been following the campaign have already heard several times over, but then they’re not the target audience here. The superad is aimed at undecided voters, who generally ignore the campaign until the final week and then make up their minds several days (or possibly hours) before E-Day. It’s meant to reverse, or at least blunt, the late-decider tendency to break republican. This is critical as while Obama holds a commanding lead in most critical states, these states also have a significant proportion of undecideds remaining, and the leads he’s amassed could be either severely reduced or erased if they move towards McCain in large enough numbers.

For those who missed it, you didn’t miss you probably haven’t heard before if you’re even remotely political already. I myself would have skipped it had I not given myself the task of blogging about it, although I also prefer to view it myself before it moves through the prism of media coverage, and this brings us briefly to the superad’s final main objective: by it’s sheer length and expense it’ll dominate tomorrow’s news coverage even more than today, preventing McCain from gaining a narrative foothold for another day, even as he and Palin attempt to sell another alleged terrorist link to Obama.

And now having done my duty, I’ve been jonesing for a game by the name of Fallout 3, which posits a post-nuclear future that follows a McCain victory (I kid, I kid).

Aside: Seeing footage from Obama’s 04 Convention speech, it’s very noticeable the extent to which he’s aged in the interim.

