According to McCain campaign spokesman Nancy Pfotenhauer, while all my friends in Richmond and Charlottesville have been living it up in “real Virginia”, I’ve been living in a lie:

What I resent most here is the implication that all democrats in NoVa just moved down here from DC. I moved down here from New York, dammit! Seriously though, I begin to think the McCain campaign is TRYING to lose. When trying to win votes in a state maligning it’s major center of population is generally considered poor form. Combined with Joe McCain\’s assertion that Arlington and Alexandria are \”Communist Country\” it seems the McCain campaign holds some form of cognitive dissonance wherein the DC suburbs are not in fact part of Virginia but form a separate entity, the People’s Democratic Republic of Virginia, or “North Virginia”, if you will.

